Why I stop watching some anime in the middle

This post was scheduled ahead of time; I’m probably out of town right now.

The list of all the anime that I didn’t like and dropped without finishing is really long (83 shows long, to be exact), so going through all of them is out of the question. There’s only so many reasons I usually have for dropping anime anyways, so I thought that it would still be interesting (to me at least) to just take a look at why I drop certain shows. This isn’t a complete list, but I have opinions and they’re not damaging and I felt like expressing them and this is my personal blog.

Reasons I drop anime:

  1. The show was airing while I was watching, and I didn’t have time to keep up with it.
    • By far the most common reason, I think. Contrary to popular belief (lmao) I have a life outside of anime too, and sometimes I just don’t have the time. Especially if a season has a bunch of really good shows- some of the slightly less good shows that I would have watched during less good seasons just kind of get pushed to the side and forgotten about. Or even if they are really good and right up my alley, there are times when other things got in the way and now it’s weird picking them back up again.
    • Examples: Akatsuki no Yona, Sailor Moon Crystal, Classicaloid, Karneval, Kiseijuu (Parasyte), Bungou Stray Dogs, Kekkai Sensen, Aldnoah.Zero
  2. The show was airing while I was watching, and I lost interest without continuous episodes.
    • The other most common reason. (I tend to watch anime by season as they air, since about 2010.) If a show doesn’t catch my interest enough, the week-long wait is just too much to bother with.
    • Examples: Accel World, Aoharu x Kikanjuu, Guilty Crown, Dangan Ronpa
  3. It’s a sequel of a show I previously finished so I started watching out of inertia or weird feeling of obligation, but lost interest partway through
    • No wait, this is the most common reason. This tends to happen either when there’s too long of a break between seasons, or when things in the show just start dragging without any variation
    • This also includes specials that air after the main show has ended (and often they don’t get subbed very fast anyways, so I usually forget they exist lol)
    • Examples: Later seasons of Uta no Prince-sama (how many idols can you add?!), Gatchaman Crowds Insight, Later seasons of Hakuouki, Sword Art Online (I’m still in disbelief that I sat through an entire season of that tbh)
  4. Somewhat connected to the previous, it’s a show in a genre or subgenre that I’ve already watched a lot of other shows in or previously liked, and this new show doesn’t have anything that sets it apart from the previous ones
    • This mostly concerns reverse harem and male idol shows tbh
    • I used to be really into those around when Ouran HSHC was really popular, but I guess I just aged out of their target demographic?
    • Most of these I actually don’t even start watching or watch like half an episode, so they don’t go on the list in the first place haha (like Shounen Hollywood)
    • Examples: B-Project, Marginal #4, Diabolik Lovers, Amnesia, Yumeiro Patissiere
  5. I’ve already read/am reading the manga, and the anime is not outstandingly spectacular
    • Also very common. And common even for manga I actually really really like.
    • Examples: One Piece, elDLIVE, D.Gray-man, Code:Breaker, Drifters, Handa-kun, Nurarihyon no Mago, Soul Eater, xxxHolic,
    • There’s also DRAMAtical Murder, where I watched gameplay of before the anime aired
  6. It’s an anime I really wanted to watch because of friends’ recommendations/general hype/something that I usually like, but for some reason I only watched part of it and never got back to it
    • Most of these get put on hold, and once in a while I’ll remember and decide that I just don’t have the time to finish even if I really liked what I had watched so far
    • Examples: Natsume Yuujinchou, Tiger & Bunny, Samurai Flamenco, Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso
  7. Many of these are a combination of reasons
    • For example, I read the Code:Breaker manga way back when, and then the anime started airing so I started watching it, but then lost interest in both without finishing
    • Udon no Kuni too, even though I actually probably should have finished this one. This was a case of successive seasons of feel-good taking care of kids shows, and Amaama to Inazuma the season before was about my limit. Like, I loved Barakamon and Flying Witch, but would have definitely appreciated a bit of a break before watching something else so similar. It was also in the Fall 2016 season, with Yuri on Ice, Haikyuu S3, Ajin S2, Hibike Euphonium S2, and a bunch of other good shows, plus I started a new job, so it got pushed aside.
  8. Other special reasons that I think are worth talking about
    • Watched out of peer pressure, but just couldn’t continue
      • Examples: Code Geass, Naruto
    • Older show I know for sure I watched a good chunk of, but can’t remember
      • Example: Detective Conan
      • Sailor Moon used to be in this category until I binge watched all of it in a month, same with Yu Yu Hakusho
    • I was going to watch it but I was not in the mental state to handle it
      • For slightly lesser reasons, Shirobako. I happened to have a heavy workload the semester that it was airing, and watching it stressed me out enough that I had to stop.
      • Tokyo Ghoul. I wanted so much to continue (the manga too), but my own depression was getting bad enough without the emotional load that Tokyo Ghoul dumped on me too

It’s sad, because I’m pretty sure the list of dropped anime I have on MAL is not even complete. I didn’t make a MAL until like 2013, and I’ve been watching anime since around 2006 TT TT so there’s probably a bunch of anime that I watched a few episodes of and dropped and just completely forgot about. Man, what a weeb. I still sometime debate whether it’s worth listing the anime I’ve dropped, but I guess it’s kind of illuminating looking back and seeing how my tastes change.

Cheers (•́⌄•́๑)૭✧

One thought on “Why I stop watching some anime in the middle

Leave a Reply

