Productivity pt. 2: Bullet journaling

Or, the planner/productivity system that I’m currently trying out.

IMG_20160608_214915

I keep hearing about the bullet journal thing, but I’ve never really given it much thought because it seemed like all the people using it were actual adults? But then I realized that I am also an actual adult, so I figured I could give it a go. My previous systems were not working out because I recently went through a large transition in my life (graduating college) so I needed a new system anyways.

There’s a website (opens in a new tab) where it all started that explains the basic system, like the different bullets and monthly pages and stuff. I don’t follow it exactly; what I currently do is sort of like a cross between bullet journaling and the to-do lists I used to do. I also see a lot of people decorating their spreads, so I’ve incorporated that as well. The notebook I’m currently using is not designed for bullet journaling; it’s just a normal lined notebook that I got several years ago, and that I’ve already used halfway with other stuff. I figured that if I messed up for something, using an old notebook I don’t like would help me not be upset about ruining nice stationery.

Here’s the first spread: the monthly pages for June.

IMG_20160608_183213

This notebook has one ribbon bookmark, and I keep it on this page. On the left is a list of important dates for this month, and monthly goals. The words in purple are the lyrics to one of my favorite songs recently: Young Forever, by BTS. (Make sure to turn on the captions on the lower right of the video- there are English translations of the lyrics.) On the right side is an expenses log for the month- I don’t have that much, since I’m currently living with my parents, which means I don’t need to go grocery shopping haha.

There are other monthly things I want to try to add in next time- most importantly one of those habit tracker things, so I can see how many days out of the month I did those things. I would probably include exercise, eating healthy, meditation, sleeping/waking up early, etc. At the end of the month, I plan to dedicate a spread to some reflections on what happened that month and some gratitude exercises.

Here’s the spread from a few days ago:

IMG_20160608_183233

I chose this spread to show because it’s the end of the week, and so there’s some weekly reflections. It’s also a very typical spread, and shows the difference between the pages that are for weekdays vs weekends. On every page, I have three water droplets to track my water intake; each droplet is for a full (tall) glass of water. I also get water from other sources so that’s why there’s only three. (And I don’t even fill it up everyday anyways lol) As for the bullet system I use, it’s the normal dot for tasks and circle for events (that have a set time). I make a cross for tasks completed, a right pointing arrow for tasks I’m moving to the next day, and a 3/4 completed cross for tasks I’ve started but haven’t completed yet.

So, Sunday. That was a day where I was determined to not do a lot of things. I have “download R” because I’m currently learning how to use it. The other task is an organization thing that I kind of underestimated the amount of time it would take, which is why it’s half done and moved to the next day. Since it was the end of a week, I listed out the good things that happened this week. I also have a section for things that I learned this week and to keep in mind for the future.

On to Monday. Apparently the inertia from the weekend didn’t completely disappear, so I didn’t get as much done as I wanted to. I recently canceled my service with Charter but they’ve sent me like two bills that I shouldn’t have gotten, so I needed to call them to clear it up. (They just told me to ignore those emails?? lmao) And I finished the organization thing, but it took me a while, so I didn’t get a change to dedicate the good chunk of time needed to submit some job applications, so I pushed that off to the day after. I did the blog post at least. And I have a reminder to wash my hair, since I don’t wash my hair every day, and I need to shower earlier than usual if I do so I can give my hair a chance to dry before I sleep. The section divider is just a piece of cute tape that I got in China last time I went to visit my relatives there. The lyrics are from Cypher Pt. 2, by BTS. I picked my favorite line from each of the verses. Cypher pt. 2 was the song of the day, because I was upset about the Flower Crew disaster with Jungkook and his burgers (hence the bunnies and the burger doodles lol).

Now for some reflections on the bullet journal system. So far, I like it a lot. It’s not too different from what I was previously doing, so it’s not much of a change. I give myself space on each day’s page to write or draw things (usually lyrics to songs I like), and it’s something that I like to set aside a few minutes to do to end my day. I haven’t really been doing the whole index thing, because I haven’t been using it that long and haven’t needed it yet. I also don’t have pages that are not planner stuff (like some people have pages in the middle of the week that is just a list of books they want to read or something). I think if I do something like that, I’ll start from the back of the notebook for brainstorming or other sorts of lists. Depending on what I do in the future, I might use this system in combination with google calendar, sort of like what I did in college.

But yeah, that’s pretty much all. I think this might be my longest post so far (I’m at over 1000 words right now), so I’ll end it here. Next post will probably be some leftover stuff about productivity that I didn’t get to.

Cheers ໒( ͡ᵔ ▾ ͡ᵔ )७

2 thoughts on “Productivity pt. 2: Bullet journaling

  1. Pingback: Bullet journaling: one month reflection – Alice's Adventures in Adultland

  2. Pingback: The ~Job Search~ | Alice's Adventures in Adultland

Leave a Reply

