An Introduction

Hi, I’m Alice.

Introductions are always the hardest part of writing anything, perhaps second only to conclusions. When I wrote papers in college, I always wrote the introduction last. But since this is (intended) to be an ongoing blog, there isn’t really any way I can do that. (Can time travel be invented already, please?) Thus, I’m here, awkwardly trying to introduce myself to absolutely no one.

I guess I can start with why I suddenly wanted to start a blog, even though I’m not even all that active in social media. It’s mostly to give myself something to do while I’m looking for that post-college adult job. Writing things out is also beneficial for mental health in many ways (e.g. affective labeling, practicing gratitude, etc). So yeah. I figured a public (kind of, considering I haven’t told anybody about this blog) setting would keep me more accountable to post regularly. It also can’t hurt to get experience managing a personal website.

Going back to writing being beneficial for mental health- I mention this not only because it has a lot of support in scientific literature, but also so that I can keep using what I learned in school. (Here’s my super smooth transition to talking/bragging about my education.) I recently graduated with a Bachelor’s in Psychology from a fairly well-known, private four-year university (read: an expensive-as-f school), and I really don’t want it to go to waste. So while I try to look for paid research positions to prepare me better for grad school, I’m going to apply all the stuff I learned to my own life as well. That’s one of the best things about psychology; it’s really easy to apply to real life.

So what am I going to be posting about on this blog? Besides the aforementioned ~psychology stuff~, I’m really just going to write about whatever I want. I mean, this is my personal blog/website, and I can do what I want. It’s not even going to be all that fancy, with lots of pictures or anything. Most of the posts are probably just going to be me rambling about my life/how my day went- those are also going to be exercises in gratitude, because that’s important for keeping up happiness levels. I also have a slight obsession with cute stationery (that’s stationery with an “e,” for the paper products) and organization, so you can expect posts on my attempts at bullet journaling and stuff. I’m also a huge anime fan and a recent victim of the kpop black hole, so there’s that too. All in all, a good variety of topics. It’s literally just me trying to live life as a functional adult.

Cheers ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ

Leave a Reply

